top of page

A Lifetime Of Lost Love - WIP

Updated: May 17

As if a new wave of travellers had been brought in on the season's winds, the faces I see almost always differ as they pass.

Though striken with grief, many show love in their eyes as they find those close to their hearts. A scene I have grown tired of as I lay here, a forgotten remnant of the past. To sit an eternity, watching as others are rescued from this misery, it grows dark here without you. I wish to witness just once more, the soft tones of your voice as you would rest beside me, to hear my name carried upon the winds, to feel the racing of my heart as our bodies grow entangled as one, to know that you would be here, in my hold, together.

But, the endless nights have grown cold as I lose myself to the agony of time,

the pain of being alone and forgotten, it takes over my heart, my soul.

Leaving but a void that longs to be whole.


Another has come searching, I watch from the ground as they come into view. A moment of excitement tried to tease my mind but, I knew it would not be you, I knew it couldn't be, that you'd no doubt forgotten me in the life you had and yet, why does it hurt so much? Why is it such torture to know that this visitor who comes seeking, searching for their other half, was not here to guide me through.


With closed eyes, I see nothing but the pain that placed me here, hear the screams of my brothers as we march into battle, feel the heat that boiled our blood, melded metal to skin and stole the essence of our being. We were taken too young, with a life ahead wasted as others pushed us into a war we never asked for..


And now, as result? I lay here, a stone above my head with a flurry of names, none of which belong to me, I lay here, buried beneath the ground that ought to belong to others. I remain in this hole, knowing there is no way for you to find me. The years have turned me bitter, crushed my soul into the creature that now looks to love with hatred, I gaze up at the sky with disgust, jealous of the freedom that others felt, I turn to the ground with acceptance, knowing this shall forever be the only place I belong.

With the silent tears that trail my cheeks, I remember the days we could be,

the days where you would stay beside me.

A shattering of my heart burns through my soul as I consider how you could be with another, someone who is fortunate to experience your love.


It is in this moment, I feel a warmth that spreads to my very core, a tender touch to my shoulder, a soft hand resting upon my back.

Shocked, surprised by the sudden approach, I had barely a moment to turn before your arms had embraced me. It had been a lifetime since I felt this hold, your lifetime to be precise, I knew not how to react, except that of a small smile as your lips grace my cheek, your breath upon my ears as words that I never knew I needed to hear, rang out. "I finally found you"

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by Discarded-Dwarf. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page